furrybaer

Jul 13, 2011 at 11:13 PM

I am new to Mac so please excuse my stupidity...I downloaded these files to my mac desktop and I thought I installed them per the documentation,but when I try to use "Terminal" to navigate to the folder and run odatagen against our services, all I get is "command not found".  Yet, if I do an "ls", it sees odatagen just fine...here is the command I am running...

odatagen /uri=http://ourserver:port/service.svc /out=/Users/myuser/Desktop/Odataproxies

I'm sure I am doing something wrong, but if somebody could help me that would be great.

thanks

Jul 14, 2011 at 2:03 PM

The reason is "odatagen" is not a command that is found in one of the command directories.

Use

echo $PATH
to see the directories where terminal searches for commands.

In order to run a program that is not in your PATH you must supply the path to the program.

/path/to/directory/.../odatagen /uri=http://ourserver:port/service.svc /out=/Users/myuser/Desktop/Odataproxies
or if Terminal's current directory contains odatagen then you can simply use.
./odatagen /uri=http://ourserver:port/service.svc /out=/Users/myuser/Desktop/Odataproxies

Jul 14, 2011 at 4:15 PM

Thank you very much.  I was able to run this command, and it looks like it generates Metadata, but it errors  out before creating the Proxy classes.  I have pasted the error below.  I'm not sure what to do with it.  Do you have any ideas?  Thanks again.

Mark

null-34159e274c14:MacOSX10.6.sdk baerm$ ./odatagen /metadata=/Users/baerm/Desktop/OdataProxies/CreativeAffairsMetaData.xml /out=/Users/baerm/Desktop/OdataProxies